Puzzled in Kindergarten


We did not home school Jonathon until almost the 100th day of school.  Jeff took Jonathon to school one day, instead of me.  He walked Jonathon into school, he wept if we did not walk him all the way to his class.  Upon arriving, Jeff realized Jonathon did not recognize his hook and had no idea what to do to start his morning.  Jeff finally was alarmed as well as I had been.

I tried to be at the school often, wanting to keep a close eye on Jonathon.  Many days I passed his class, looking in, Jonathon looked lost.  One time the class was reading a book aloud together, Jonathon was looking off to his left and seemed “checked out.”  Thinking about it, I realized he did not recognize all his letters yet, how could he possibly  keep up with reading.

At class parties, he was often withdrawn.  On another occasion, the class sang a phonics song.  It was Jonathon’s turn to go up front and point to the right phonological blend in the song.  Jonathon stood, I could see the sadness on his face, he tried his best, but was not “getting it.”

Everyday we would send him to school, I saw him at home withdrawing more and more.  He came home with pencil marks on his temple where a child had marked up his head.  Jonathon did have one faithful buddy at school, he was a life line of friendship for him. 

Jonathon cried every day on the way to school.  My son was drowning.  He needed rescued.  The same education that made Jordan equipped was torturing Jonathon.  Constantly instead of a feeling of accomplishment, he was having the feeling of being “dumb” pounded into him.

I often noticed in preschool and kindergarten, when books were read to him; he would not look at the reader.  Since, I have learned that children with processing issues, most often can not look at a person and listen at the same time.  It is simply over load for them.  This issue of “not paying attention” caused many a vivid conversation.  I am so thankful for one preschool teacher who noticed Jonathon was paying attention and often comprehended more than others in the class.

Comprehension has been a real strength for Jonathon.  We have rejoiced in his strengths, making sure he is aware of what he is good at.

Knowing he was feeling more and more failure, we homeschooled.  We put the rest of his private school money into therapy.  We were very ignorant of how quickly that money would be gone.

I hoped Jonathon would be back to his before kindergarten self again.  He had regressed into a stoic shell of a child.  I knew he was still in there somewhere.  I thought he could be reached, but how?

Books that really helped us kick homeschooling off, is a series by Peggy Kaye and are all called: Games With Books, Games For Learning, Games For Math, Games For Reading.  These books are invaluable, truly priceless.  I used these books to make games for Jonathon and I to play.  At times, I think, I snuck learning into Jonathon’s day without him realizing.  I highly recommend these books to every parent who has a child

Love it!

who needs a little extra especially in the learning area.

Leave a Reply

